The Size Of Tinubu’s Cabinet Likely Between 36 And 42 – Omisore


The National Secretary of the All Progressives Congress (APC), Senator Iyiola Omisore, has suggested that President Bola Ahmed Tinubu might consolidate some ministries.

Speaking on Channels Television’s Politics Today programme on Tuesday, the APC stalwart revealed the President’s cabinet could range from 36 to 42 members in size.

“The Constitution states one minister per state, which equals 36, and one per zone, totalling 42, at the discretion of the President. So, it could be a minimum of 36 or a maximum of 42,” he explained.

Senator Omisore went on to disclose, “We are still consulting with the party and examining the structure of the ministries. We are likely to reshape the ministries to reflect the current desires of Nigerians, possibly merging some, rebranding others, and renaming some to encapsulate the agenda of Renewed Hope.”

When asked whether President Tinubu might form a government of national unity that includes members from opposition parties, such as former Rivers State Governor, Nyesom Wike, of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), Omisore responded that such a decision lies solely with the President.

President Tinubu is expected to form his cabinet within sixty days of taking over as President, following a bill signed by ex-president, Muhammadu Buhari.